A Chilly Morning at Diversey Harbor

As the weather continues to cool off, it becomes more and more difficult to get motivated for long walks with the pups. Luckily, through adopting Levi, we have discovered the SociaBulls walking club, a group made up of mostly pit bulls (although non-bullies are certainly welcome and present). The club meets every Sunday at 9am in a different area of Chicago, and the walks are about an hour and a half. So far, we have been to Hyde Park and Diversey Harbor in Lincoln Park…both areas I rarely get to otherwise.

I will admit, when I first learned of the walks, I was hesitant because I am somewhat of a night owl. Those who know me would definitely call that an understatement. But after getting up and out, it actually feels great to get a long walk out of the way before 11am. Unfortunately for my boyfriend, he works late hours on the weekends and doesn’t get home until 3am Sunday morning, but he has been wonderful about coming with us without a single complaint. He even walked Levi a lot of the time at Diversey Harbor so I had the chance to talk to some of the other humans.

What I love most about the walks is the great exposure it gives other people to a big pack of bully breeds. These dogs do such an amazing job of staying focused and walking together, that I think it almost shocks strangers that we meet along the way. At Diversey Harbor, we were battling some pretty distracting elements – runners, off-leash dogs, geese, kayakers, bikes – and the dogs still did a fantastic job. One thing that definitely slipped my mind is that the temperature drops about 10 degrees or so when you get near Lake Michigan. We were a little under-dressed, and I had to apologize profusely to Mr. Levi for forgetting to put on his favorite red hoodie.

I think he eventually forgave me. 🙂

Lastly, there is the added bonus of having one very tired and happy puppy after all is said and done. Levi loves getting to hang out with his buddies – especially his old roommates, Bruno and Mazzy, and since Sunday is essentially my ‘free day’, I love knowing that Levi will pretty much pass out for the day once we get home. Weather permitting, I hope to enjoy a few more of these walks before the unforgiving Chicago winter settles in for good.

As much fun as Levi has on his SociaBulls outings, I know he is always super excited to get home and curl up with his sister Greta.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Chilly Morning at Diversey Harbor

  1. Emily says:

    That photo of Levi curled up with Greta is just too precious!

  2. Seeing this all makes me so, so happy. From those photos of Levi kissing you, walking with G, to snuggling up with Greta it looks like he’s been with you forever, or at least he found where he was supposed to be.
    It is an added bonus for us getting to see you guys and little Levi so much, and especially knowing how late you do work.
    PS. I love how atmospheric your photos look. Is it hipstamatic? Or Instamatic?

    • 3legs2ndcity says:

      Well, Levi certainly behaves like he’s been with us forever…especially at home! He has made himself quite comfortable, which is just fine with us. He is so funny…keeps us laughing constantly.
      PS – I use an iPhone app called Camerabag mostly, which has a few different filters. I do also use Hipstamatic. 🙂

  3. Greta and Levi snuggling… so cute! I could look at pictures like that nonstop!

  4. claudia says:

    He really is the cutest dog ever. And even cuter snuggling with Greta.

  5. daisydog says:

    We are so glad we can continue to follow Levi through your blog. He is a lucky guy!

  6. Rachel says:

    I am so happy to be able to continue to read about Levi’s adventures! And that he is now with his super sister Greta is even cooler. What a great thing A and E have started with your Chicago walks. Sounds like you have gotten to see quite a bit of neat places. I love the picture of Levi and Greta snuggled up! To have my two relax like that is in my dreams haha. Even after exercise and play they are two crazy pups. Maybe a few years time will calm them down… I hope!

  7. Brenda says:

    Greta and Levi are so cute together! It makes my heart happy to see them. 🙂

  8. Emma says:

    I’m so glad Levi has led us to your blog. Those pittie eyes and ears have so many expressions that one looks seems to just say it all. Gorgeous!

    Emma

  9. Karen says:

    So happy I found this blog… I too am the owner of a brown, tripod pit bull here in Chicago! My dog Jude lost his leg (also front left) when he was just a wee puppy due to some pretty cruel “owners.” But today he is properly loved and greatly spoiled… the things we do for our dogs indeed. Just found out about SociaBulls, maybe we’ll see you on a walk one of these days.

Leave a comment