Thanksgiving + A Special Visit

I can’t believe another Thanksgiving has come and gone…what a year it has been. Even though I don’t have any family in Chicago, I generally stay here for Thanksgiving, which can be tough sometimes. But this year, with Greta feeling healthy and happy, and with our new addition to the family, the wonderful Levi, I had a lot to be thankful for. I spent the day in the kitchen, preparing food for dinner with friends, and the dogs spent the day waiting for me to drop something.

It is becoming tradition for my Mom to come up the Friday after Thanksgiving and stay for 4 or 5 day visit. My Mom, who is quite hip, was having a hard time with the label ‘Grandma’ after my sister recently had a baby. So she decided she would feel better if her Grandogs refer to her as ‘YiaYia’ (the Greek word for Grandma). Between shopping, dining out and live music, we always have a fantastic time. But this year, her visit was extra special for a couple reasons. For one, Levi was going to meet his YiaYia. In true Levi fashion, he made a great first impression and was more than happy to spend some quality time snuggled up to her.

She was also able to see Greta again. As sad as it is to think about, this was something we weren’t sure was going to happen after her diagnosis a few short months ago. Greta and her YiaYia have a very special bond. See, if it weren’t for my Mom, I would have never met Greta, and possibly never adopted a pit bull at all. About two years ago, I decided I was ready for my own dog. It was right around the time that a large dog racing track was closing in Wisconsin and hundreds of Greyhounds were going to be left homeless. I decided I might go this route to adopt and planned to check into it after the first of the year.

About a week before I went home to St. Louis for Christmas, my Mom called to chat. A few minutes into the conversation, she blurted out “I think I found the perfect dog for you.” I was a little caught off guard, but once she sent me a picture of little G (see below), I couldn’t wait to meet her. And of course, once she gave me one pit bull nibble on my ear, the rest was history.

One great part about visits from YiaYia is that there are usually gifts involved. As the chilly Chicago winter descends upon us, it’s important for the pups to be nice and warm, so I was excited that this visit brought brand new coats for both Greta and Levi. And I promise G & L were more excited than they look. 🙂

Perhaps the best part of her visit, however, was that she got to see how happy both Greta and Levi are together. She just couldn’t believe how comfortable they are already.

The morning after she left to go back to St. Louis, I received this text from her her:

I miss my puppies and my pumkin pie this morning. Love You. Thanks for the great visit.

I think the dogs genuinely miss her as well, and I know Levi is looking forward to his first visit to St. Louis for Christmas. Especially since he has heard rumors that YiaYia has a super comfy king-size bed with his name on it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thanksgiving + A Special Visit

  1. Tucker's Mom says:

    So awesome to see that Greta and Levi have already bonded so strongly. Glad you had a nice Thanksgiving. Love the new coats!

  2. Rachel says:

    Looks like you had a wonderful Thanksgiving! I love the last picture of Greta and Levi. They sure look like buds 🙂

  3. Emma says:

    Mmmm, did you have some roasted veggies for Thanksgiving? Mom thinks they look yummy. Me, I’m more of a turkey kinda girl. Did you get some turkey??

    Greta is so very cute. We just wanna hug her.

    We are so very happy you have found your forever family. Greta sure is a Super Hero!!! We admire her strength, positive attitude, zest, and accomplishment. Our prayers for all good things for both of you.

    We like your coats they are dashing.

    Emma

Leave a Reply

