Greta and Levi Do Lake Ronnie

One of Greta’s favorite things to do when we take a trip to St. Louis is visit my Grandparents house. They live in a tiny town in Southern Illinois on a secluded lake and every time we take a trip there, Greta likes to take a dip in the lake. We often let her off the leash for short periods of time so she can chase her tennis ball. She loves jumping in the lake after the ball and bringing it back.

I felt a little sad when we took her there this time because I didn’t think she would be able to swim now that she’s a tripod. But I was hoping she would prove me wrong (as she always seems to do), so I brought along a retractable leash and started in the very shallow part of the lake.

Click HERE to see how Greta did on her first swim with three legs!

Unfortunately, Levi isn’t quite so trustworthy off the leash and he has no interest in playing fetch, so he didn’t get to go swimming. But he had plenty of fun during his own special walk around the lake.

Here are a few pics of both of them enjoying their first trip to the lake together:

 

  

They were so tired on the way home, Greta was asleep sitting up before we could even wind down the long gravel road to leading out of the lake community.

And before long, they were both passed out on top of each other as usual.

Before we hit the road back to Chicago, Levi, Greta and George snuck in one more nap on my Mom’s couch.

Until Levi decided it was time to get on the road!

Another successful road trip with the two pups! Looking forward to the next.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Greta and Levi Do Lake Ronnie

  1. Two Grads says:

    I love your pictures – so expressive!

  2. amfriese says:

    Greta and my girl molly have the same collar! Fashionable chicks think alike!

  3. I always love your pictures, and so great to see Greta swimming! They are the funniest pair!

  4. Rachel says:

    Looks like they had an awesome time 🙂 what a great road trip!

  5. Tucker's Mom says:

    I just love your pictures! Looks like a fun trip!

  6. That’s awesome that Greta swam! Wow. And I love the photos of everyone on the couch together! Levi looks so devious! Too cute. 🙂

  7. i just love these two pups! their life with you guys is so fantastic, i always have a huge smile on my face when you post about their adventures. here’s to many more of greta and levi shenanigans!

  8. Rebecca says:

    You go girl!

  9. Emma says:

    Beautiful pictures! I like the one of Gretta sleeping sitting up and the side view of Levi and the lake. Sounds like a wonderful vacation.

    GREAT JOB Greta we are so proud of you. You are a trooper. You swim like a pro.

    Emma

  10. Roo says:

    What a great trip! Greta had the biggest smile chasin her ball and swimmin in the lake Wahoo! 😀 Levi and Greta make such an adorable pair 🙂

    Waggin at ya,
    Roo

  11. Bella Moore says:

    Hi,

    Great site! I’m trying to find an email address to contact you on to ask if you would please consider adding a link to my website. I’d really appreciate if you could email me back.

    Thanks and have a great day!

  12. poemblaze says:

    I was doing a Google search for any mention of Lake Ronnie and saw your fun pictures and video. My Aunt and Uncle had a clubhouse there during the late ’60s and early ’70s. Was always a happy place for me. Just wrote something about my memories there. A little more abstract, I guess, and more about when memories are more distant: http://poemblaze.wordpress.com/2012/06/09/at-lake-ronnie-1975/

Leave a Reply

